A Reminder About the Upgrade to TAE40110 Certification

If you have had a few years as a trainer and assessor in the VET sector and have then given your career a break, you may need to upgrade your qualifying certification as a trainer and assessor. The upgrade you may need is if you still hold a TAE40110 certificate. This has been superseded by the upgraded TAE40116 certificate in training and assessing.

There are many reasons of course why you still have the old type certificate. Trainers often take a break to bring up a young family, travel, get over an illness, etc. and unless you have kept a close eye on what is happening in the VET sector you may not have been aware of the requirement to have a TAE401110 certificate upgraded before resuming a career in VET. This requirement is now two years old as it came into force on July 1st, 2019.

Contact Us

What the upgrade involves

Just to provide a reminder about the old certificate, the TAE40110 certificate in training and assessing was a prerequisite before 2015 for anyone with industry experience who wanted to shift their career into an educational role as a trainer and assessor in the Vocational and Training (VET) sector.

Across Australia, about 4,000 privately owned and run recognised training organisations (RTOs) provide a variety of VET courses under the regulatory authority of the Australian Skills Quality Authority (ASQA). There are traditional bricks and mortar RTOs that provide face-to-face learning opportunities in VET subjects as well as RTOs that provide online courses. Not all VET courses are intrinsically able to be made available online, but there are many courses that can be provided by a mixed training regime (part physical attendance and part online). In addition to the RTOs, the government provides its own VET courses in Training and Further Education (TAFE) colleges.

To have a job as a trainer and assessor at either an RTO or a TAFE there is a requirement to have at least a Certificate IV in Training and Assessing which is what is now achieved by successful completion of the Certificate IV TAE40116 course, either by upgrading from the TAE40110 certificate or starting from scratch.

The full upgrade from TAE40110 to TAE40116, which is what is most strongly recommended, includes successful completion of core unit competencies TAEASS401, TAEASS403, TAEASS502, and TAELLN411.

The following are the correct titles of these four unit competencies which can be achieved in various ways depending on the industry skill you have brought over from prior experience.

TAEASS401 – Plan assessment activities and processes

This unit is designed to test the knowledge and skills which are necessary to plan a VET assessment procedure. Assessment must include prior learning recognition in an assessment system based on competency achievement.

TAEASS403 – Participate in assessment validation

This unit builds on TAESS401 by testing the knowledge and skills needed to take part in validation of assessment.

TAEASS502 – Design and develop assessment tools

This unit takes assessment skills further by testing the knowledge and skills needed to develop and design assessment methods.

TAELLN411 – Address adult language, literacy, and numeracy skills

This unit tests knowledge and skills needed so that an assessor or trainer can adapt their training techniques to the language skills of their student cohort. An ability to identify LLN levels and needs is necessary.